The Board of Directors oversees the day-to-day operations of the District. The current Directors were named in the Ordinance and thus appointed; hereafter, all successive Directors must be appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Board of Aldermen. The Board is comprised of 11 members who must be either businesses operators or property owners or their representatives within the District. At least six seats must be held by property owners and at least two seats must be filled by business operators. The remaining three seats may be either business operators or property owners. Of the six seats reserved for property owners, one must be filled by an owner of six or more properties within the District and one must be filled by an owner of at least 4% of the total assessed value of the District. As provided in state law, members cannot be compensated in any way for their service.

The Washington University Medical Center Redevelopment Corporation has generously donated staff, supplies and office space to the Board until June 30, 2010. The Board also benefited from the counsel, funding and encouragement of 17th Ward Alderman Joseph D. Roddy.